Your driver’s license is a crucial document that you can’t function in the world without having. You’ll have a difficult time proving your identity, and you could get a ticket if you drive without it. Therefore, you have to act fast if you need to replace it because of loss, misplacement or theft. The following is some information on how you can get your license restored in the state of North Carolina if you do happen to lose it for any reason physically.
The Cost of a License Replacement
The cost of a drivers license replacement in North Carolina is $13 whether you do it online or by mail. You may have to pay additional fees if you use a third-party service that is not the regular Department of Motor Vehicles. Make sure that you pay close attention to who you’re using if you choose the online method to renew your item.
Accepted Forms of Payment
The form of payment that you use depends on which way you choose to order your license. If you use the online method, then you will have the option of using a credit card or a debit card. If you visit the branch of the DMV in North Carolina, you will have many more options like the option to pay with a money order or a personal check. The personal check option has a few restrictions, however. You have to have identification, and the bank must have a branch in North Carolina.
Getting a Replacement Online
You have the option to request a replacement online if you lose it. It may be a good idea to tell the authorities that you lost your license, as well. It’s not a requirement in the state, but it’s a great way for you to protect yourself from identity theft.
You must meet certain criteria to order your license replacement online. You have to have a valid email address, and you need to have your license number. Your license cannot be revoked or suspended, and you cannot have any outstanding fines to the DMV or anything. Additionally, the DMV must have certain information of yours on record. It must have an image of you in its database, and it needs to have other identifying information such as your social security card and a document that proves who you are. If all of that is intact, then you can continue with the process of getting what you need. Just go ahead and visit the relevant section of the North Carolina DMV site. You will have to go through a verification process. When you finish, you’ll be able to order your document and pay the fee that the state requires of you.
Getting a Replacement in Person
You will need to bring some documents if you would like to get your replacement in person. The DMV will need to see the documentation that provides your age and your identity. Thus, you will need to bring with you a birth certificate, passport, social security card or something else on the list of eligible documents. You need to furnish two documents so that you can get what you need. If your replacement document requires a name change, then you will have to bring the legal document that ordered the name change. Once you prove you who you are, you can pay the fee and receive your document.
Use the above strategy if you lose your license in NC. You can have a new one in your possession the same day or within 14 business days depending on the method that you use to get another one.