Finding out that the registration for your primary mode of transportation is suddenly missing is a stressful moment. This doesn’t mean you can never drive again though. Replacing a lost, stolen, or damaged vehicle registration in North Carolina is simpler than you might assume. Here, we have laid out the steps towards vehicle registration replacement in NC:
Where to go for Vehicle Registration Replacement
There are 3 ways to replace a stolen or lost vehicle registration in North Carolina—in-person, by mail, or online.
Go to your local DMV or county tag office with the following items:
- A completed and signed Form MVR-10 (Application for Duplicate and/or Additional Registration Certificates)
- Personal Identification – driver’s license, passport, birth certificate, etc.
- Car Insurance Proof – insurance card
- License plate number
- $20 payment – can be paid with cash, check, or money order
Most DMV offices in NC are open from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. Some locations in Raleigh, Charlotte, and Huntersville have started extended hours. Check the NC DMV website for the hours and operations of your local office before going there.
Send copies of the above listed items, a $20 check, as well as a completed Application for Duplicate and/or Additional Registration Certificates to the following address:
NC Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27697
You will need to first access the online registration portal on the DMV’s website. On the vehicle registration replacement request page, you will need to provide:
- The current license plate number
- The title number assigned to your vehicle (typically the last 5 characters)
- A debit or credit card to pay the $20 fee
- Valid email address
Online is typically the quickest and most direct way to replace a lost or stolen vehicle registration. If you go to the North Carolina DMV office, it is certain that you are going to have to wait; and sometimes, the service you want completed is not offered at your local office. Be sure to take advantage of the online service platform if you can.
Replacing While Out-of-State
Vehicle registrations can get ripped, torn, crumpled, lost or taken faster than you might believe, no matter where you are. Should your registration suddenly vanish while you are traveling outside of North Carolina, don’t worry. You can request a replacement online and have it sent to you.
Reporting Stolen or Lost Vehicle Registration
If you suspect that your automobile registration has been stolen, take a moment to examine other parts of your car. Are the license plates and validation sticker intact? Has anything else been removed? Should anything be out of place, you need to file a stolen registration report with the authorities as soon as possible in order to prevent any fraudulent use of your registration, license plate, or stickers.
However, you are not required by law to report a damaged and lost registration or license plate.
That is all it takes. Once the NC DMV receives your application, supporting papers, and the fees towards the replacement registration, you will have a new one in no time.