How to Renew a License in North Carolina
Without being renewed, a drivers license does not last forever. If you are a resident of North Carolina and a licensed driver, you are required to renew your license once every eight years if you are under the age of 65. If you are over the age of 65 at the time of your next renewal, your license will only be valid for five more years without another renewal. In order to keep your license active and to avoid driving illegally without a valid license, follow the instructions below to make sure you do exactly what is required by the state to renew your license before its expiration date.
To begin with, understand that if your license has been suspended or revoked, you will not be able to renew it. If your license is suspended or revoked, you must first take the necessary steps to make sure it is activated or the suspension is lifted. However, if your license has been lost or stolen and the expiration date is less than six months away, you can renew your license instead of seeking a replacement.
If you do have an active license, you can renew your drivers license up to 180 days before the date that it is due to expire. The date of expiration is printed on your current license. If there are 60 days remaining until your license expires and you have not yet renewed it, the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles will mail you a card that serves as a reminder to renew your license. While the reminder card is not one of the requirements to have with you when you renew your license, it is a good idea to take it with you.
Some license renewals can be completed online. If you choose to go to the website of the North Carolina DMV to try to renew your license, you must know the last four digits of your social security number and have no vision changes within the previous six months. However, if the system detects some reason that requires you to renew your license at a DMV office, you will not be able to renew your license online. If you have a unique circumstance such as being out of the state because you are an active member of the military, you may be able to renew your license through the mail.
The sure-fire route to renewing your license is to visit your local DMV office. You must bring either your current license or two documents to prove that you are who you say you are. You also need your social security card if the DMV does not already have your social security number in its system. Once you have waited in line and then shown the required documents to a staff member, you will be given a vision test. As soon as you have passed the vision test, the staff member will ask you to identify certain traffic signs. The signs that you will be shown will just include the shape and color of the signs. It is up to you to explain to the staff member what each sign is called and what it means.
If you pass the tests, all that is left for you to do is to pay the renewal fee. In North Carolina, the fee is based on the number of years that the renewal is for. The charge is $5 per year of renewal. Therefore, if you are under the age of 65, the fee will be $40. If you are older than 65, the fee will be $25.