The reasons that people change their name varies. Some change their name because they were recently married. Some change their name because they were recently divorced. Sometimes, though, people just change their name because they want to find a way of escaping the bad memories that they associate with the name that they were given at birth. No matter your justification for seeking a change to your name, several tasks accompany your action and become your sole responsibility. One of your responsibilities after changing your name is to make sure that you update the information on your drivers license.
How Long You Have to Update Your License With Your New Name
If you are a licensed driver in the state of North Carolina and you recently had a name change, you must notify the Department of Motor Vehicles within 60 days from the date that is printed on the official documentation that you received as validation of your name change. If you neglect to notify the DMV within this 60-day period that it allows, you will be breaking the law by driving around with a license that contains inaccurate information.
Where You Can Go to Update Your Name
When you are ready to update the state of your name change, you cannot choose to do so online, by phone, or by mail. The only possible method to update the name on your license is to do so in person at your local DMV office.
Documents You Need to Bring With You to the DMV
After you find out which DMV office is closest to your residence, you will need to make sure that you have the proper documents ready to take with you. Basically, the state needs to see proof that your name has officially been changed and that you are the person who you say you are. Therefore, no other person can show up on your behalf to take care of this task for you. While another person could be with you at the time of your visit to the DMV, you must also be present.
In order to prove to the DMV that your name has been changed, you will need in your possession your current North Carolina drivers license with your old name appearing on it. Also, you must have one piece of paper that proves your name was actually changed. Examples of documents that are acceptable to the state include a marriage certificate, a divorce decree, or a court order that clearly states that your name has been lawfully changed.
Payment Required to Change Your Name on Your License
In addition to having the correct documents, be prepared to make a payment to cover the cost of your new drivers license with your new name on it. The fee in North Carolina to obtain a new license with a new name is $13. That cost remains the same for each time you change your name. The DMV will accept any of the following payments methods: cash, check, money order, credit card, or debit card.
As soon as a member of the staff at the DMV office has approved your update to your name on your drivers license and you have paid the fee, you will be issued a new drivers license right there on the spot. You may or may not be asked to have your picture taken again. When you leave the DMV that day, you can then be certain that you have fulfilled your responsibility as a driver in North Carolina to update your license properly.